Betsy DeVos, U.S. Secretary of Education, named Sagebrush Elementary in Sheridan, Snowy Range Academy in Laramie and Westside Elementary in Powell to the National Blue Ribbon Schools list of 2018, in a statement released by the U.S. Department of Education.

Since 1982, more than 8,500 schools have been presented with this award.  349 schools were named as the National Blue Ribbon School 2018.  November 7th and 8th, a ceremony in Washington D.C. will take place to congratulate and reward these schools.

All schools are honored by one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores, and graduation rates.

  • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
  • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state's highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school's student groups and all students over the past five years.